The Sin of Comparison

For a little while today, I allowed myself to be lied to. You see, I compared my life to someone else’s, and I came out the loser. I am tempted to do that a lot. Comparing is a sin for me. I’m not talking about competing where you get better by pitting yourself against a rival that you know is more than able to defeat you. I’m talking about the Facebook stalking, Instagram Envy, old fashioned comparison game. From the outside, their life looks more successful, more glamorous than mine. They travel (other than to Walmart), they climb the corporate ladder and they graduate from colleges. Sometimes, our children can become a measuring stick of our “success” and our cars, clothes and even electronics become the testimony of our worth. But this is a trap set for me by the master of lies. If I turn my eyes from God and the road I am traveling and allow myself to look at what I PERCEIVE someone else’s road to be, I have sinned.

 

“Child,’ said the Lion, ‘I am telling you your story, not hers. No one is told any story but their own.”

C.S. Lewis, The Horse and His Boy

 

The lie is that I have been given a road …. a story that is not good enough. And that, for some reason, God is not giving me what I deserve. The sin is to believe that lie. My road is about walking with God, being united in faith to Him, and helping others find their road to God. That road may include that I have debt or a messy house or flabby arms ( and tummy and ….) or my kids may not be perfect I may never see the world or wear fancy clothes, but that doesn’t change that the only road God cares about me traveling is the one that leads between His heart and mine.

Leave a comment